You are here

Musica Reginae presents New Music by New York Composers

October 20, 2018
7:00 PM

performed by Ensemble Pi, with Elizabeth Farnum (soprano) and Carl C. Bettendorf (conductor), & ClaraDuo: Asuka Elias, clarinet and Aleksandra Kocheva, piano

In collaboration with the Association for the Promotion of New Music (APNM) and the Aaron Copland School of Music – Queens College


Church in the Gardens 50 Ascan Avenue, Forest Hills Gardens, New York


David Schober Small Hole at the Top of the Sky

Robert Muczynski Time Pieces, Op. 43 (1983)  

Edward Smaldone Duke/Monk (2011)

Clara Duo: Asuka Elias, clarinet and Aleksandra Kocheva, piano

- Intermission -

Bruce Taub  Companion Piece (2001)
Idith Meshulam, piano

Erik Lundborg Z’s Lied
Sheila Simpson
, piano

Sheree Clement   Swimming Upstream*  (2018) sop, fl, cl, pf, vln, vcl and video
Libretto by Sheree Clement, with excerpt from “The President’s Salmon” by Catherine Schmitt
Soprano: Elizabeth Farnum
Ensemble Pi, conducted Carl C. Bettendorf


* world premiere

#commissioned by APNM, with support from the Queens Council on the Arts

Musica Reginae presents a concert of new music by New York composers, inspired by Catherine Schmitt, James Joyce, Duke Ellington and Thelonius Monk.  The concert includes the world premiere of a partially staged chamber opera, featuring Ensemble Pi with soprano Elizabeth Farnum and conductor Carl Bettendorf, as well as a set of chamber music performed by the ClaraDuo (Asuka Elias, clarinet and Aleksandra Kocheva, piano).